Personalized Attention From An

What mental conditions qualify you for disability?

On Behalf of | Jan 6, 2021 | Mental Conditions

The Social Security Administration uses the Blue Book to outline which conditions qualify individuals for disability benefits. Section 12 of this book details the circumstances and types of mental disorders that qualify claimants.

Knowing the types of eligible disorders and how to demonstrate your eligibility through medical evidence might help you Social Security disability benefits more efficiently.

What are the nine categories?

The mental disorders covered in the Blue Book are anxiety disorders, autism, organic mental disorders, affective disorders, personality disorders, somatoform disorders, substance addiction, mental retardation and schizophrenia or other psychotic disorders.

SSA does not use the same diagnostic methods as those in the medical field do, so it will likely benefit you to look at the standards for qualification. You might qualify for a condition different from your medical diagnosis.

What is the disability claims process?

To qualify for Social Security benefits with any of these disorders, you must demonstrate that you meet the criteria listed for each one. You can also demonstrate that the total of all your disabling conditions is equal to any of the listed criteria. Additionally, you need to show that you comply with your treatment and you continue to undergo medical support, even while applying for benefits.

Typically, you need to wait three to five months to learn if the SSA accepted your claim. If so, the SSA will begin paying your benefits immediately (including back pay or retroactive benefits). With a denied claim, you have the opportunity to file an appeal and have a hearing before a judge.

FindLaw Network